Generally speaking, you could be eligible for up to two-thirds of your weekly wage when applying for workers’ comp. The maximum time that benefits could last would be anywhere from 156 weeks to the length of your disability, depending on your circumstances.
As you can see via the Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents, there are three main categories of wage replacement benefits, depending on the nature of your injury. Here they are in summary:
- Total or partial permanent incapacity
- Temporary total incapacity
- Temporary partial incapacity
For injury that permanently reduced your ability to work, whether it was a total or partial disability, there should be no time limit on wage benefits. The amount you could collect should be 66 percent of your weekly wage, limited by a minimum of 20 percent and a maximum of 100 percent of the state average weekly wage. For reference, as of January 2019, the Massachusetts SAWW is a little over $1,400.
For temporary total incapacities, you should be able to collect 60 percent of your weekly wage for up to 156 weeks. For temporary partial incapacities, the maximum amount would be 75 percent of that 60-percent figure, with a time limit of 260 weeks. This could supplement your lower earnings as you recovered from an injury by taking less work or a lower-paying job.
This is a complicated system. If you believe something is wrong, it could be good to double-check. Keep in mind that the Commonwealth of Massachusetts provides workers’ compensation above and beyond many other states. Even if you do not believe you would be eligible, please check based on the details of your case — the level of protection the law provides might surprise you.